Get a free website hit counter from GoStats About St Brigids NS, Clonegal
Crest
HeaderMainText
 

T/ F: 053 9377513
E:clonegalns@gmail.com

 
About Us

About us

Aims
Curriculum
Awards
Our Staff
Board of Management
Contact Us
History of Clonegal NS

Situated in the picturesque village of Clonegal, St. Brigid’s NS, which was built on an elevated site in 1952, occupies a focal point in the village. The present building replaced the old school which was built in 1834. In 1974 the school amalgamated with Parkbridge N.S. Parkbridge NS had opened in 1963 to replace Newry NS, which dated from 1845. The original building was a 3 roomed school with a boy’s and girl’s toilet and cloakroom area. In 1990 2 new classrooms were opened.

In 2009, the DES sanctioned an ASD class at the school and a rented cabin was provided behind the main building. The original school building was re-furbished between 2010 and 2012. The walls were insulated, windows and doors replaced, 3 small classrooms were converted to 2 en-suite classrooms and a front hall was added. A further building programme was completed in 2014. This 2-storey extension incorporated 2 new mainstream classrooms upstairs and a new ASD unit downstairs. In 2016, another new classroom was built as the school needed accommodation for a second ASD class which had opened in 2014. The staffroom was also extended and the rented cabin was removed.

In 2006 the Parish Hall – formerly the old 1834 school- was renovated. It is always available for school use and we have a computer room, a kitchen and a small PE room there. The After-School club also uses the Parish hall.

Footer